A strategy of innovation for the benefit of users

Diagram explaining the six sources of innovation of the group, which are: research and development, employee-led innovation, partnerships, minority interests in start-ups, intrapreneurship and acquisition of companies.

Innovation and Elab, the Group’s innovation unit

Bouygues’ strategy in the field of innovation is focused on delivering services that provide real benefits to users. The aim is to make the daily lives of the Group’s customers, partners and employees simpler. It is also to improve its productivity and boost stakeholder satisfaction by creating sustainable solutions.

480

Active patents held by the Bouygues group, of which nine filed in 2021*

*The Group has been at the initiative of many other innovations that cannot be legally protected.

Harnessing the potential of technology

The Bouygues group has pinpointed four technologies that it believes will shape its businesses:

  • Artificial intelligence (AI) can provide effective decision-support to many of the Group’s business segments. For instance, by analysing physical data from a site, as well as regulations and environmental factors, AI can optimise the building potential of land and facilitate interaction between the stakeholders in a property development project (developers, architects, consultancy firms and local authorities).
  • of high-risk areas on road networks through the analysis of vehicle behaviour.
  • The Internet of Things, combined with Big Data, can harvest and analyse data on an enormous scale for the predictive identification of high-risk areas on road networks through the analysis of vehicle behaviour.
  • With virtual and augmented reality, it is possible to interact in real time with digital elements that have been added to a live view. For example, brands can insert advertising into a television show without interrupting it. With BIM (Building Information Modelling), 3D can be used to represent a whole range of data used in the design and construction of a structure and simulate its behaviour.
  • Finally, blockchain, by making flows more secure, will facilitate the creation of new services by simplifying transaction processes. For instance, it is currently being used to ensure more secure, transparent and faster signing of complex contracts.

Supporting the transformation 

  • Creating ground-breaking products and services for customers based on new sustainable business models. Since 2021 Bouygues Construction has been developing 20 “Build-to-Rent” programmes. These are fully-serviced, ready-to-rent homes built with urban families and households in mind, providing occupants with a better quality of life at a competitive cost. Also in 2021, Bouygues Immobilier launched the “Majorelle” project, a new range of affordable, modular housing units that can be adapted as families grow.
  • Testing and providing solutions to facilitate the ecological transition. Bouygues Energies & Services and PowiDian are collaborating to explore growth opportunities and identify use cases in the emerging green hydrogen market.
  • Digitising processes and optimising materials for the Construction businesses. Colas’ Grid2BIM project is on-line software that uses deep learning algorithms to convert underground network plans into very precise 3D-compatible models, thus reducing lead times and costs.

Supporting the transformation 

In a context where small agile companies can disrupt entire ecosystems, Elab supports the Group’s subsidiaries with their transformation.

By applying nimble methods focused on uses, such as design thinking, business model canvas, C/K method and value quadrant, we help our customers carry out their business transformation:

  • Creation and launch of new products and services or innovative business activities.
  • Business transformation, by helping to adapt the core business to new market opportunities (new technologies, new customer demands, new competitors).

ByTech is an in-house community of IT, digital and innovation employees.

Monitoring of technological advances worldwide

Bouygues Asia

Bouygues Asia was originally set up in Tokyo in 2002 as a subsidiary of Bouygues Telecom within the framework of the partnership with leading Japanese telecoms operator NTT Docomo. Today, Bouygues Asia represents the interests of the entire Group. This multicultural entity monitors the key players in Asia’s innovation ecosystem and offers assistance to the Group’s business segments and to customers outside the Group wishing to look for partnerships.

Winnovation

Winnovation is a Group subsidiary based in the US responsible for meeting companies or start-ups with which strategic partnerships can be formed. Winnovation also helps its customers with partnership negotiations. This unit also actively monitors US markets for developments in the domains of technology, marketing and strategy.

Une stratégie d’innovation au service des usages

Schéma expliquant les six sources d'innovation du groupe qui sont : la recherche et développement, l'innovation par les collaborateurs, les partenariats, les investissements minoritaires dans les start-up, l'intrapreneuriat, l'acquisition de sociétés.

L’innovation et le Elab, la direction innovation du Groupe

L’innovation chez Bouygues se concentre sur des usages apportant un bénéfice concret. L’enjeu est notamment de simplifier l’expérience au quotidien des clients, des partenaires et des collaborateurs du Groupe. C’est aussi d’accroître la productivité et d’augmenter la satisfaction des parties prenantes en imaginant des solutions durables.

480

Le nombre de brevets actifs dans le groupe Bouygues dont 9 déposés en 2021*

*Le Groupe est à l’initiative de nombreuses autres innovations qui ne peuvent pas faire l’objet d’une protection juridique

Exploiter les potentiels des technologies

Le groupe Bouygues a ciblé quatre technologies ayant des impacts sur ses activités : 

  • L’intelligence artificielle (IA) apporte une aide à la décision pertinente pour de nombreux Métiers du Groupe. Par exemple, à partir de l’analyse des données physiques d’un site, de la réglementation et des facteurs environnementaux, l’intelligence artificielle permet d’optimiser le potentiel constructif d’un terrain et de faciliter les interactions entre les différents intervenants d’un projet immobilier (promoteurs, architectes, bureaux d’études et collectivités).
  • L’Internet des objets et les mégadonnées (big data), lorsqu’associés pour collecter et analyser massivement des données, permettront, par exemple, l’identification prédictive des zones à risques routiers sur les infrastructures d’un territoire.
  • avec des éléments numériques superposés à la réalité. Il est, par exemple, possible pour les annonceurs d’insérer des éléments publicitaires visuels dans une scène de fiction sans l’interrompre. Grâce au BIM (Building Information Modeling) qui désigne la maquette numérique et la gestion des données qu’elle contient, la 3D peut être utilisée pour représenter l’ensemble des informations utiles à la conception et à la construction d’un ouvrage, et pour en simuler les comportements.
  • La chaîne de blocs (blockchain), en sécurisant les échanges, va faciliter la création de nouveaux services en simplifiant les processus de transactions. Aujourd’hui, elle est, par exemple, déployée pour signer des contrats complexes afin de garantir des échanges plus sécurisés, plus transparents et plus rapides.

Développer des projets innovants

  • Créer des offres de rupture pour ses clients fondées sur des nouveaux modèles économiques durables. Bouygues Construction développe depuis 2021 vingt programmes de Build-to-Rent, un concept de logements locatifs « prêts à vivre », avec services intégrés et destinés aux familles et aux ménages des grandes métropoles. Les programmes apportent une meilleure qualité de vie aux occupants, à budget maîtrisé. Chez Bouygues Immobilier, le projet « Majorelle » développé en 2021, propose une offre de logements abordables et configurables. Les habitations sont modulables, s’adaptent aux usages et à l’évolution des familles.
  • Tester et proposer des solutions en faveur de la transition écologique. Bouygues Energies & Services et PowiDian explorent en collaboration les opportunités de développement et les cas d’usage pour les marchés émergeants de l’hydrogène renouvelable.
  • Numériser les processus et optimiser les matériaux pour les Métiers de la construction. Le projet « Grid2Bim » de Colas convertit automatiquement et précisément les plans de réseaux en modèles 3D compatibles à l’aide de d’algorithmes de deep learning ** pour un gain de temps et de coûts.

** Apprentissage profond par une intelligence artificielle

Accompagner les transformations 

Dans un contexte où de petites entreprises agiles peuvent venir perturber des écosystèmes entiers, le Elab accompagne les filiales du Groupe dans leur transformation. 

En appliquant les méthodes agiles centrées sur les usages (design thinking, business model canvas ; méthode C/K ; value quadrant …) nous aidons nos clients à concrétiser leur transformation business : 

  • Création et lancement de nouvelles offres ou activités innovantes. 
  •  Transformation du métier, en aidant à adapter le cœur d’activité aux nouvelles opportunités du marché (nouvelles technologies, nouvelles demandes clients, nouveaux concurrents). 

La communauté ByTech interne au Groupe fédère des collaborateurs des technologies de l’information.

Veille internationale

Bouygues Asia

Installé à Tokyo depuis 2002, d’abord en tant que filiale de Bouygues Telecom dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec le leader du télécom japonais NTT Docomo, Bouygues Asia représente aujourd’hui l’intégralité du Groupe. Le bureau, multiculturel, identifie les acteurs clé dans l’écosystème de l’innovation en Asie et accompagne les différents métiers du Groupe ainsi que ses clients externes dans la prospection de partenariats.

Winnovation

Filiale du Groupe implantée aux Etats-Unis en charge de rencontrer les entreprises ou startups pouvant être des partenaires stratégiques. Winnovation aide aussi ses clients dans la négociation de partenariat. Cette filiale réalise également de la veille active sur les marchés américains dans différents domaines : technologiques, marketing et stratégique